Skip to content Skip to Programs Navigation

News & Stories

Legacy awards honor standout alumni


In 2006, our UNC Kenan-Flagler Charlotte alumni chapter created the Hugh L. McColl Jr. Legacy Award to honor former Bank of America CEO Hugh L. McColl Jr. (BSBA ’57) for his many contributions to the city of Charlotte.

Every year, we continue this tradition by honoring a deserving Business School alumnus with this award to recognize their contributions which have been key to the growth of Charlotte as a business hub and vibrant community.

Now, our Triangle and Atlanta alumni chapters are building on this tradition by creating a legacy award to recognize UNC Kenan-Flagler alumni who have made a significant impact in their communities.

The recipients of these Legacy Awards will be honored during UNC Kenan-Flagler alumni receptions in the Triangle, Atlanta and Charlotte. We hope you will join us to pay tribute to these wonderful alumni.

Our legacy awards

The Kenan Family Legacy Award is named in honor of the contributions of the Kenan family – whose generosity and support over the years has made such a difference throughout the UNC campus and the entire Triangle region – and recognizes Business School alumni who emulate the Kenans’ dedication to improving these communities.

G. Smedes York

G. Smedes York

G. Smedes York (MBA ’68) will be the inaugural recipient of the award. His contributions include:

  • Serving two terms as mayor of Raleigh (1979 to 1983)
  • Serving on the Raleigh City Council (1977 to 1979) and Chamber of Commerce, as well as the Raleigh Durham Airport Authority and nonprofits including Boys and Girls Clubs and YMCA of the Triangle
  • Serving on the UNC Kenan-Flagler Board of Visitors

The R. Charles Loudermilk Sr. Legacy Award is named in honor of Loudermilk (BSBA ’50), founder of lease-to-own retailer Aaron’s Inc. Loudermilk has been instrumental in much of the progressive business development in Atlanta. His impact extends to the Carolina community, where his generous support established the Loudermilk Center for Excellence, a 150,000 square-foot facility that serves UNC’s nearly 800 student athletes.

Leonard W. Wood

Leonard W. Wood

The inaugural recipient will be Leonard W. Wood (MBA ’72), founder of Wood Partners, LLC. His contributions include:

  • Developing apartment and condominium homes in Atlanta and throughout the U.S. since founding his company, Wood Partners, in 1998.
  • Serving as chairman and on the Multi-Family Leadership Board of the National Association of Home Builders
  • Serving as governor, trustee and chairman of the Multi Family Council of the Urban Land Institute
  • Extraordinary commitment to real estate education at UNC Kenan-Flagler, including serving on the advisory board of the Leonard W. Wood Center for Real Estate Studies which is named in his honor.

The Hugh L. McColl Legacy Award is named in honor of McColl (BSBA ’57), former CEO of Bank of America (BoA). After retiring from BoA, he partnered with other Charlotte banking executives to form the investment banking firm, McColl Partners. He also co-founded Falfurrias Capital Partners, a Charlotte-based private equity firm, and founded McColl Garella, an investment banking company serving firms owned by women. McColl has supported a broad range of academic, civic and arts causes for Charlotte, strongly encouraging the city’s urban redevelopment.

rvinroot blog

Richard A. Vinroot

The ninth-annual recipient of the award will be Richard A. Vinroot (BSBA ’63). His contributions include:

  • Serving as mayor of Charlotte from 1991-1995. He was named American City and County magazine’s Municipal Leader of the Year in 1995.
  • Eight years of service on the Charlotte City Council (1983-1991)
  • Promoting economic growth and development in North Carolina’s cities and towns as a board member of the NC Communities & Business Alliance
  • Serving on the boards of Charlotte’s Sugar Creek Charter School and the Charlotte YMCA