UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School
Share Print

2010 UNC Kenan-Flagler Alumni Awards

Alumni Awards 2010
Pictured from left: Derick S. Close, Amit Singh, Nancy S. Millett, David Kirkpatrick, Dean Jim Dean, John C. O'Hara, Jr., Erskine B. Bowles, Jason Kilar

UNC’s Kenan-Flagler Business School recognized seven outstanding alumni at its 12th annual Alumni Association Awards ceremony Nov. 5.

Erskine B. Bowles (BSBA 1967), president of the multi-campus University of North Carolina, received the Business School Leadership Award, which recognizes an alumnus, alumna or friend of the school who demonstrates exceptional achievement in a career field, personal endeavor or service to UNC Kenan-Flagler. Bowles resides in Chapel Hill.

Derick S. Close (MBA 1990), chief executive officer and owner of Springs Creative Products Group, LLC, received the Global Leadership Award, which honors an alumnus, alumna or friend of the school whose global participation and initiative advance the school's education, research and public service mission. Close resides in Charlotte.

Amit Singh (Executive MBA 2003), chief executive officer, president and co-founder of Spectraforce Technologies, Inc., received the Outstanding Young Alumni Award, which honors an alumnus or alumna of the last decade who demonstrates leadership in career accomplishments and exceptional commitment to the school. Singh resides in Raleigh.

Four distinguished alumni received Alumni Merit Awards, given from UNC Kenan-Flagler’s degree programs to alumni who personify the school’s tradition of excellence.

  • Jason Kilar (BSBA and AB Journalism/Mass Communications 1993) received the BSBA Alumni Merit Award. He is the chief executive officer of Hulu, the award winning online video service. Kilar resides in Santa Monica, CA.
  • John C. O'Hara, Jr. (MBA 1979) received the MBA Alumni Merit Award. He is president of the Kenan-Flagler Business School Foundation. O'Hara resides in Chapel Hill.
  • David Kirkpatrick (Executive MBA 1991), received the Executive MBA Merit Award. He is managing director and co-founder of SJF Ventures. Kirkpatrick resides in Durham.
  • Nancy S. Millett (BSBA 1983) received the Master of Accounting Alumni Merit Award. She is a partner in the Atlanta office of Deloitte Tax LLP. Millett resides in Atlanta.

2009 Alumni Awards
2008 Alumni Awards
2007 Alumni Awards
2006 Alumni Awards
2005 Alumni Awards
2004 Alumni Awards

Alumni Social Media